top of page
  • by Jeff Beck

The Winners of the 73rd Annual Writers Guild of America Awards

The Writers Guild of America has just finished announcing their awards for 2020, with Emerald Fennell cementing her frontrunner position for the Best Original Screenplay Oscar with a big win this evening for "Promising Young Woman".

Sadly they decided to embarrass themselves spectacularly by awarding "Borat Subsequent Moviefilm" their Adapted Screenplay award. It's unfortunate that they decided to treat the award as a complete and utter joke, but apparently they had no interest in taking it seriously this year. However, it hardly mattered as "Nomadland" (which they had wrongfully disqualified from competing) still has a strong lock on the Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar.

With the big win for "Promising Young Woman" this evening, it now feels even more certain that "Nomadland" will be the big winner on Oscar night, but we'll know for sure at this week's other big event: The Producers Guild of America Awards, which will take place Wednesday night. If "Nomadland" wins there, it's pretty much over, but if something else should win... we may still have a race on, so be sure to check back to see who takes the big prize.

In the meantime, please see below for a list of tonight's WGA winners:

Original Screenplay: Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman

Adapted Screenplay: Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Documentary Screenplay: The Dissident

Drama Series: The Crown

Comedy Series: Ted Lasso

New Series: Ted Lasso

Episodic Drama: "Fire Pink", Ozark

Episodic Comedy: "The Great", The Great

Long Form Original: Mrs. America

Long Form Adapted: The Queen's Gambit

Animation: "Xerox of a Xerox", BoJack Horseman

Comedy/Variety: Talk Series: Desus & Mero

Comedy/Variety: Specials: Stephen Colbert's Election Night 2020: Democracy's Last Stand: Building Back America Great Again Better 2020

Comedy/Variety: Sketch Series: At Home with Amy Sedaris

Follow me on Twitter @BeckFilmTwitter.


Join our mailing list

bottom of page