top of page
  • by Jeff Beck

The New York Film Critics Circle Names First Cow the Best Film of 2020

The New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC) announced their annual awards today, resulting in an extremely unusual pick, Kelly Reichardt's "First Cow," a rather forgettable film about a cook and a Chinese immigrant making biscuits in 1820's Oregon. The film won no other awards.

Two films took a pair of awards, including Eliza Hittman's teen drama "Never Rarely Sometimes Always" (Best Actress, Sidney Flanagan, and Best Screenplay) and Spike Lee's Vietnam drama "Da 5 Bloods" (Best Actor, Delroy Lindo, and Best Supporting Actor, Chadwick Boseman). Meanwhile, Chloe Zhao scored another win for Best Director ("Nomadland") after recently winning the same award from Boston.

It's interesting to note that, looking over the past ten years, the NYFCC has only matched up with the Academy's pick for Best Picture once ("The Artist" in 2011), so it's probably safe to assume that this curious pick will not carry over to the Oscars.

Coming up tomorrow, the Boston Online Film Critics Association (BOFCA) announces their year-end awards, followed by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) on Sunday, so be sure to check back for the winners.

In the meantime, please see below for a list of the NYFCC's winners:

Best Film: First Cow

Best Director: Chloé Zhao for “Nomadland”

Best Actor: Delroy Lindo for “Da 5 Bloods”

Best Actress: Sidney Flanigan for “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”

Best Supporting Actor: Chadwick Boseman for “Da 5 Bloods”

Best Supporting Actress: Maria Bakalova for “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”

Best First Film: The 40-Year-Old Version

Best Screenplay: Eliza Hittman for “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”

Best Cinematography: Small Axe

Best Animated Film: Wolfwalkers

Best Foreign Language Film: Bacurau

Best Non-Fiction Film: Time

Follow me on Twitter @BeckFilmCritic.

Bình luận

Join our mailing list

bottom of page