top of page
  • by Jeff Beck

Moonlight Named Best Film of 2016 by Los Angeles Film Critics Association


The Los Angeles Film Critics Association has just finished announcing their awards for 2016, declaring Barry Jenkins' "Moonlight" to be the best film of the year. The film also took Best Director (Jenkins), Best Supporting Actor (Ali), and Best Cinematography.

There were certainly a number of unusual picks to say the least (Adam Driver for "Paterson," Lily Gladstone for "Certain Women," and "The Lobster" for Best Screenplay to name a few), and in most cases, their runner-ups ended up being better choices than their actual winners. For example, "La La Land" coming in second to "Moonlight" for Picture, Director, AND Cinematography was a little crazy, but they obviously had a strong liking for both films regardless.

It should be noted that LAFCA rarely agrees with the Academy's choice for Best Picture, having only matched twice in the last 20 years (including last year). Plus, they are known for having more eccentric choices than most groups, so I wouldn't expect most of these picks to carry on to the other critics awards.

Coming up tomorrow, my own guild (the Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association) reveals our picks for the best of the year, so be sure to check back tomorrow for the winners.

Please see below for a complete list of LAFCA's winners:

Best Picture

  • Winner: Moonlight

  • Runner Up: La La Land

Best Director

  • Winner: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

  • Runner Up: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

Best Actor

  • Winner: Adam Driver, Paterson

  • Runner Up: Casey Affleck, Manchester By The Sea

Best Actress

  • Winner: Isabelle Huppert, Elle

  • Runner Up: Rebecca Hall, Christine

Best Supporting Actor

  • Winner: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight

  • Runner Up:Issei Ogata, Silence

Best Supporting Actress:

  • Winner: Lily Gladstone, Certain Women

  • Runner Up: Michelle Williams, Manchester By The Sea

Best Screenplay

  • Winner: Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster

  • Runner-Up: Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester By The Sea

Best Animated Feature

  • Winner: Your Name

  • Runner-up: The Red Turtle.

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction

  • Winner: I Am Not Your Negro

  • Runner Up: OJ: Made In America.

Best Cinematography

  • Winner: James Laxton, Moonlight.

  • Runner-Up: Linus Sandgren, La La Land.

Best Editing

  • Winner: Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, Ben Sozanski, OJ: Made In America.

  • Runner Up: David Wasco, La La Land

Best Music Score

  • Winner: Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, La La Land

  • Runner Up: Mica Levi Jackie

Best Production Design

  • Winner : Ryu Seong-hee, The Handmaiden

  • Runner-Up: David Wasco, La La Land

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Winner: The Handmaiden

  • Runner-Up: Toni Erdmann

Follow me on Twitter @BeckFilmCritic.

Join our mailing list

bottom of page